Piano Odyssey

Rock Royalty & Keyboard Legend Rick Wakeman Releases Debut Album for Sony Classical: ‘Piano Odyssey’

  • Album released 14th October 2018
  • Celebrates Wakeman’s stellar career
  • Features collaboration with superstar guest artist
  • Preorder

Piano Odyssey

Keyboard wizard Rick Wakeman, famous for his hugely successful rock career across the years, most notably with leading bands Yes and The Strawbs and for his sought-after collaborations with top artists of the day such as David Bowie, Yusuf Islam (formerly known as Cat Stevens) and Black Sabbath, is proud to present here his debut album for Sony Classical: ‘Piano Odyssey’.

With all tracks personally chosen, crafted, orchestrated and arranged by Wakeman himself, this eagerly-anticipated album follows him on a very special journey across the whole span of his glittering career and celebrates key moments along the way.  Fans will join Wakeman on this deeply personal voyage, encountering arrangements of familiar and favourite works by such diversity as Queen, Yes, Liszt, Handel and David Bowie as well as repertoire from ‘The Six Wives of Henry VIII’ and new solo compositions, all performed on the legendary Granary Steinway Model D grand piano.

This former student and Fellow of the Royal College of Music has covered a lot of musical ground during his colourful and wide-ranging career and ‘Piano Odyssey’ offers the perfect opportunity to share this with Rick Wakeman as – true to form - he presents familiar rock classics and classical themes in fresh, new and intriguing ways – with some welcome help from a superstar friend on one in particular!

Of his new album, Rick Wakeman commented: “All of the music chosen contains the most beautiful melodies and this is the key to being able to present fresh arrangements which can only enhance the reputation of the original.  Every track has a meaning and is tailor-made for the piano.  It was pure joy to make this album and I have to thank all those involved for their enthusiasm as ‘Piano Odyssey’ grew to reality”.

Sarah Thwaites, Head of Sony Classical UK noted: I'm beyond thrilled that Rick Wakeman has chosen to augment the prestige of Sony Classical with his new album.  Apart from his proven musicality and unique artistry, he is an industry legend who has inspired hundreds of fledgling artists over the years.  This brand-new recording is a fitting celebration of Rick’s impressive legacy at the very pinnacle of superstardom”.  

Rick Wakeman will tour music from ‘Piano Odyssey’ during Autumn/Winter 2018 throughout the UK.  Tickets are available at www.myticket.co.uk


  1. While My Guitar Gently Weeps
  2. Liebesträume / After The Ball
  3. And You & I
  4. Rocky (The Legacy)
  5. The Boxer
  6. The Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud
  7. Strawberry Fields Forever
  8. Roundabout
  9. Cyril Wolverine
  10. Jane Seymour
  11. Largos
  12. Bohemian Rhapsody