GOR

Reviews by Reniet Ramirez

Review of The Six Wives of Henry VIII submitted on 12th April 2000

Definitelly NOT boring at all. This LP is full of energy with all kinds of instruments. A MUST! It's classical, it ROCKS, it's progressive, etc.

Review of The Myths & Legends of King Arthur & The Knights of the Round Table submitted on 12th April 2000

It's a strange album if you were expecting to hear Rick the way he plays on YES. But take the time, it's worth it. It's a very nice way to learn the history of King Arthur.... It's definitely a classic!

Review of Live at Hammersmith submitted on 12th April 2000

I really love when Rick plays with a whole band with electric guitars and everything. This is a perfect album if you want to hear him rockin' in full speed. The guitar solos are very, very good. Try "Three Wives" first, to taste it.

Review of Wakeman with Wakeman - The Official Bootleg submitted on 12th April 2000

It contains one of the most INCREDIBLE performances, "Past & Present". This live version is a lot better that the original. To the point were it inpired my brother to write a story for a movie. On the other hand I don't think that songs like "Journey..." should be played instrumentally.

Review of Rick Wakeman's Greatest Hits submitted on 12th April 2000

It's nice to hear Rick playing his versions of some YES songs. Also a song like "Gone but not forgotten" had made me cry almost everytime I hear it. But I don't think it's right to call this a Hits album when 50% of it is "Journey..." divided in small INSTRUMENTAL pieces.

Review of Classic Tracks submitted on 12th April 2000

It is what I call a PERFECT album. The way it was recorded, mixed, etc, is just perfect. Musically is an incredible work from every single instrument. This version of "Journey..." is so wild, powerfull & beautiful that can be considered as another ORIGINAL song, instead of just "another version".

Review of Return To The Centre Of The Earth submitted on 12th April 2000

Finally!!!! After Rick playing for OZZY OSBOURNE on "Sabbath, Bloddy Sabbath" & "OZZMOSIS", Now what a lot of fans have been waiting for, OZZY sings for Rick. On the song "Buried Alive". Great song, great album, a MASTERPIECE.

Review of Live in Buenos Aires DVD submitted on 3rd November 2002

A must. I think it has a great set list. "Buried Alive" from "Return...", a great medley of "1984" with unbelievable bass solo. If you love the GUITAR solos from "Clasic tracks" & "Live at Hammersmith", you fall in love with this version of "Catherine Parr". Some YES, etc. BOTTOM LINE: Another WILD Wakeman concert!!! :) Plus it has a bit of "RW Behind the Music"

Review of Rick Wakeman In Concert submitted on 3rd November 2002

The most incredible this in this ambum is Ashely Holt, is emotional voice is just AMAZING!!!!. The trumpet and trombone in "Lancelot..." takes the song into a whole new level. If you were gonna compare this to Yes, this would be the "Yessongs" of Rick.

Review of 1984 submitted on 3rd November 2002

It's funny to think that I actually hated this album when I bought it. But after a few years of being in my CDs rack I gave it a 2nd chance. "Overture" & "The Proles", made me feel comfortable with the CD, but when I saw the live version of "The Hymn/Robot Man" in the "Live Buenos Aires DVD" it totally changed my perspective. Now I can honestly tell you it's a great album. And I learned something very important too. Since Rick has so many diferent styles, it happens a lot that you buy a new album especting certaing style and when you listen to it you receive the surprise of hearing a total different thing and therefore you "don't like that album". But the truth is that you just have to wait a bit till you change your mood and giving it another try till you find your peace with that album. (NOTE: this doen't apply to the boring New Age albums. LOL :)

Review of Light Up The Sky submitted on 3rd November 2002

I have only heard the title song "Light Up the Sky" and you can also find it in "The Masters" compilation Very hard rock, very commercial, . I think it's Chrissie Hammond's best song! I love it.

Review of The Masters submitted on 2nd August 2004

I wouldn't like to say this is the best compilation as there are other great ones as "Voyage" or "Recollections". But is definitely a great one. I'd like to start with "Light Up The Sky". This is a great song that you won't be able to get anywhere else as it was originally released as a single. ("The Bear" is another song from that single). I would describe it more as a "modern" compilation as it doesn't contain songs from the 70s ("Wives" & "Merlin" are live versions). This compilation covers the period of 1985-1998. This would be like a follow-up to "Voyage". It has songs from 12 different albums & the "Light Up The Sky" single.